Dappan koothu…….

movies, matter, mania

Kaalai – The bull disappeared from the BSE, and so did this one…….

with 6 comments

Pardon me Simbu fans, for your idol has always reminded me of a cockroach! It was very amusing to imagine an insect belonging to phylum Arthropoda as a bull. Just like the previous post, even here I fail to understand how the title was related to the story, except for the million times the word ‘Kaalai‘ was uttered as part of the BGM. Deliberate eh? But then you have to hand it out to the director for the very unique characterization. How often do you come across a movie where three unrelated people share the same name? And when almost everybody in the movie is after a ‘Jeeva’ your brain cells are put to work as you decipher who is after whom. But then once you’ve got this sorted out you once again can’t stop thinking of that thing that runs around your kitchen sink and bathroom pipes.

Amongst all this confusion there is a girl who just had her cornea removed at the Sankara Netralaya/L.V.Prasad Inst and often goes into dream sequence with our roachstar. Ah! isn’t that a brilliant nick, and please stop bastardizing the thalaivar’s name by calling yourself ‘Little Superstar’. Neither are you little nor are you super , but roachstar suits you the best and we may even have a little roachstar twenty years from now. You have a hero and two heroines, but he isn’t in love with either of them! Wasn’t the dropping out of Madhavan and Trisha a decent signal? Or maybe our roachstar loves to defy the odds. Now before the ‘Hindu karupampoochi katchi‘ lauches a PIL against me, let us end it here.

Written by maxdavinci

February 4, 2008 at 6:10 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mayur, how could you not mention the song “dandanaka eh danukunaka” whatye comady 😛

    I’ve been in Madras 3 days now and seen that song on TV some 200 times 😛

    btw, the PIL can be filed for bad acting, over acting, sahikaadha hairstyle, over vethu scene etc etc 😀


    me: Didn’t wanna focus on roach moosik, had fashtu farworded all the songs. Heard the ‘Kutti Pisase’ song after your comment, and I believe he sang it himself. Does he think he is kamal to sing or what?

    Gayatri

    February 5, 2008 at 2:42 am

  2. Roachstar – lol.

    Arun sundar

    March 6, 2008 at 10:54 am

  3. eppadi da nee little superstar pathi thapppa pesuva nayeee
    unnaku athuku kooda yokitha kadayathu da badu loda kla baal

    aathi

    March 22, 2008 at 3:03 am

  4. er
    whatz the world coming to? there are lynch mobs out to get a samarthu payyan like you for calling a chimp a roach?


    me: I have a guardian maami watching over me!

    maami

    March 26, 2008 at 2:31 pm

  5. […] 16, 2008 by maxdavinci The title of this post was a very funny song that gaya introduced me to, and ever since I’ve had to hold my stomach and LOL’ed so hard whenever I’ve […]

  6. […] Under laff beta laff, phillum By maxdavinci The title of this post was a very funny song that gaya introduced me to, and ever since I’ve had to hold my stomach and LOL’ed so hard whenever I’ve […]


Leave a Reply

